It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 5:14 am

The injury system today

Chat with other players about your DoWO experience!
  • Author

Deep Blue

The injury system today

PostThu Mar 06, 2014 5:18 pm

I guess i dont need to introduce myself but for the records im playing this game since early closed beta...and maybe more than i should...and yep this is another post about the injury system. ;)

Intro (skip if you know all about the injury system's strory).

The injury system has been always in the game or at least since i started playing it. In closed beta each fate card (yes it wasn't called "healing card" ) used to cost 1500 ducats, healing whatever injury, no matter the level of your unit or type of injury. In closed was slightly easier making money as quests could be repeated every time they were completed/failed altough 1500 was still a steep price.

Then the open beta came and the first days of the new injury system were a mess. It was really a blood bath, up to the point that i was creating/deleting my companies so often just to keep playing with healty units. I guess Cyanide managed to lose a nice chunk of customers right off the bat (i hope it was not intended that mess, as they said).

The system was quickly fixed into what is today, where getting injuries is relatively harder (i would say once every 2 matches, no matter the outcome) and the price scales with your unit level.

(ok here is where you should stop skipping :D )

In the past i used to almost defend the injury system, saying it was a necessary part of the game but now after testing the new system i changed my mind: the current injury system MUST be removed for the sake of the game.

Here is why is affecting the game negatively:
- Zerg strategies are used a lot also thanks to the injury system. It is one of the reasons why people rather use lvl 1 units as they are cheaper to heal. Level 1 units are more rewarding than high level ones --> less revenue for cyanide.